All reports
valeofeternity_displayed reports
#121056: "Scorch and Aeris combination"
What is this report about?
What happened ? Please select from below
Rules: a rule of the game has not been respected
Detailed description
• Which part of the rules was not respected by the BGA adaptation
When Scorch copies the effect of Aeris, Aeris should be among the allowed targets and Scorch itself should not be a valid target. This is confirmed by Eric Hong on BGG.
• Is the rules violation visible on game replay? If yes, at which move number?
Turn #144• What is your browser?
Firefox 124.0.2
Report history
Toastgeraet • Bug has not been reproduced by delopers yet:
15. Apr 2024 13:31 • See this thread for answer of game author: boardgamegeek.com/thread/3220617/scorch-and-aeris
Screenshot: imgur.com/a/A9yxxwK
Screenshot: imgur.com/a/A9yxxwK
BananaHarambe • Bug has not been reproduced by delopers yet:
2. Dec 2024 20:15 • I can confirm that this is a bug due to an unclear rules interaction. Eric Hong confirms that when Scorch copies Aeris that "recover one of your other cards" cannot recover Scorch, but can recover Aeris. I've seen this link before and watched a friend recover their Scorch over and over recently.
I assume the intended wording is that SCORCH is the card doing the effect. The English card text is unclear. When it says "and activate it" it means activate it as Scorch. This is consistent with how Genie Exalted copies a sand timer effect like Recover and recovers itself and not the other card.
Has Eric Hong changed his mind on any of the rules interactions posted in the forums? Are there any cards that have received new rules text in newer editions or more clear rules in newer languages or languages other than English? Just curious
I assume the intended wording is that SCORCH is the card doing the effect. The English card text is unclear. When it says "and activate it" it means activate it as Scorch. This is consistent with how Genie Exalted copies a sand timer effect like Recover and recovers itself and not the other card.
Has Eric Hong changed his mind on any of the rules interactions posted in the forums? Are there any cards that have received new rules text in newer editions or more clear rules in newer languages or languages other than English? Just curious
Add something to this report
Please add here anything that seems relevant to reproduce this bug or understand your suggestion:
- Another table ID / move ID
- Did F5 solve the problem?
- Did the problem appears several time? Everytime? Randomly?
- If you have a screenshot of this bug (good practice), you can use Imgur.com to upload it and copy/paste the link here.